Happy New Year!

Helen Elizabeth
Positive Spin
Published in
3 min readApr 3, 2023

The 2023 Major League Baseball season has begun and with it comes new triumph and heartbreak, excitement and dread.

So why am I here? What am I bringing to this new season with the addition of yet another chronicle in the baseball blogosphere?

In short, I’m hoping to keep a log or a journal of sorts for the happy moments. I want this to be a place where I can turn for a smile when my favorite teams are bumming me out. A place where I can go to make sure I’m not taking the results of game too seriously.

In long, I’ve had a bit of an on-again off-again relationship with both baseball and writing about baseball. There have been stretches where I let it consume my life and there have been stretches where I couldn’t even be in the room while a game was on TV. Last season I found my way back to the sport and eased myself into watching regularly again. I’d like to believe I now have a better grip on my connection to the game and I won’t let the success or failure of my favorite teams dictate my mood. I’d like to believe I can now just appreciate the fact that baseball is going to happen from April to October no matter the record of my favorite teams. So I’m building this site with the intention of appreciating the happy things that happen because of baseball, whether they affect my teams or not. Sometimes it’ll be on-field things like cool plays or monster home runs and sometimes it’ll be off-field things like players seeing Broadway shows on an day off in New York or someone wearing an undeniably killer outfit.

More about me: I’m a Mets and Red Sox fan. I became a Mets fan around 2004 after spending the first nine or so years of my life going to plenty of baseball games that mostly happened to be at Yankee Stadium. For some reason none of the particulars of the game stuck until I started watching the Mets. I finally remembered things like the difference between the top and bottom of the inning and the infield fly rule and names of players besides Derek Jeter and Mike Piazza. I picked up the Red Sox shortly after as my family continued to visit Boston summer after summer and I realized that city was where my heart belonged.

Baseball has given me some of my absolute favorite memories and broken my heart too many times to count.

I don’t know how this is going to turn out. I don’t know how often I’m going to post (I’m currently in grad school and that requires much of my time and attention). But I hatched this idea during Spring Training and wanted to make it real before I lost my nerve.

With all that said, welcome to Positive Spin!

--

--