The Stedfast Tin Soldier: The First Book I Ever Owned and How Lucky I Was to Find It

Arthur Von
positivibes
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2023
Illustration by Kristin Markus

Do you remember a word or a book that made a big impression on your heart. A book that will make you suddenly excited, remember someone, and you feel the power flowing to become something better with it.

Next, what happens if it is your first book. A book that will introduce you to liking other books or guide you to find similar stories, characters, or situations to them.

It’s wonderful to have a book that you will remember for decades.

I wanted to write how the first book which I read, The Stedfast Tin Soldier, came to me and how it defined my interests.

At that time I was about 7–10 years old and I didn’t really touch books at all. My daily life is playing video games or computer at home. I really have no interest on books at all, yet at that time my parents often brought used books which contain lots of pictures and stories from various cultural backgrounds and various things.

There are stories about the prince from the east, Sir Issac Newton, living fish, and also the type of ships in the sea.

But, out of so many books, there was only one book that left me speechless after reading it. The book tells about the one-legged soldier doll, The Stedfast Tin Soldier.

This book made me get carried away with the spirit of limitations, persistent, and not afraid. This book made me feel the beauty of falling in love with Ballerina. This book also made me understand at this time that I can be inspired by people I admire. This book made me sad when I lost. And the most important and implied thing is, this book writes a fortune.

I have to admit, in the middle of this book, for the first time it never made me happy because this soldier seemed so helpless that he had to be brought back into his life by a luck. However, when I turned 20, I realized that luck is a gift that there is absolutely nothing wrong with picking it up and enjoying it. Besides, I have to admit, without a shred of luck, I might at some point be powerless.

Luck is a gift and you who feel it are the same as having received it, so say thank you with gratitude and happiness.

The practicum report deadline was extended because the coordinator was unable to attend and a situation where we was avoided from serious accident. It all happens spontaneously and when you get the kindness, then we can only be grateful.

Two days ago, I gave this book to someone I really admire and I pray that on her next journey she will have lots of strength and luck in the future.

Luck is something that we should be grateful for and the substance that governs luck, which we often refer to as God, we should praise. Even so, we must still understand how luck is a sudden aid that facilitates the path of our struggle, it is not a plan and we must not depend on gifts or luck at all.

--

--

Arthur Von
positivibes

A man who would like to share his self-discovery, harmony and desire. I'm also an insect enthusiast.