Bicycle Rider

Ken West
Post Card Stories
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2022
Image by Parichart Jaijukkhum from Pixabay

Every evening the old man would get on his bike with its bright light in front and a feeble red light in back.

He’d peddle to somewhere for groceries — just enough to carry home on a bike.

I saw the bright bike headlight coming down the street as I walked my dog every night. The guy would ring his bike bell to let me know he was coming.

My dog showed mild interest as the bike and the light, and the man came by.

I wondered why the guy took his bike out at night. (I found out later that he didn’t have a car.) I figured that the night was safer with a lot less traffic that could run him off the road.

One night I decided to flag the guy down and talk to him. I was curious to learn his story.

So, one night I flagged him down.

He stopped, smiled and asked me what I wanted.

I told him that I was curious about where he went for his groceries.

He told me that he went to a local food pantry.

He also told me that many years ago he was the leader of an Eastern European country and had been driven out of office by the Russians.

He was one of the most famous men in the world but didn’t seem to care.

When I told him that he had been sought by media organizations across the planet, he made a shooshing signal across his lips.

“Let’s make that our secret,” he said. “I’m happy in obscurity. Leave well enough alone.”

I kept his secret until he died three weeks ago.

Turns out, he was worth a small fortune.

He left all of it to me and my dog.

Someday, I’ll write his story.

--

--