Forward Observer

Ken West
Post Card Stories
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2022

He’d tell you your future. But there was a way to avoid it.

Image by Arek Socha from Pixabay

He was a forward observer for hire.

He would tell you stuff that would happen to you one, two, even three years out.

No one knew exactly how he did it, but his predictions and prognostications always panned out (if you didn’t change your behavior).

The good thing was that if he saw something undesirable in your future (even an untimely death), you still had the option of preparing for it, or even preventing it.

I had hired him a few times. (He’s not cheap. Fortunately, I’m rich enough to afford his services.)

He told me once that when he saw into one’s future, it was always a little blurry.

What he meant, he said, was that if you took different actions, you could change those future events.

His forward observations were contingent on you doing what you habitually do every day.

But if you changed your behavior, you could bend the future to your benefit.

One time, when I hired him a few years ago, he helped me avert a real catastrophe.

With his guidance, I changed my daily activities dramatically.

I came out smelling like a rose, paid him his fee and added a huge tip.

Word spread across the land about his amazing predictive powers.

Soon, he was booked solid for the foreseeable future.

But I needed to see him asap. The older I get, the more worried I become about the future. I don’t want to take any chances.

His new appointment secretary, who didn’t know me personally, said that I’d have to wait my turn like everyone else and that she couldn’t squeeze me into his schedule.

So, I did the only thing I could do… I went to his house in the middle of the night and woke him up.

He wasn’t too pleased to be woken from a sound sleep, but nevertheless he invited me in. (After all, I had been one of his best customers.)

Sitting in his blue silk pajamas, he sat me down in front of him and began his forward observation.

The news wasn’t good.

He told me that I was on my way to a major heart attack and possibly a debilitating stroke.

I thanked him, went home, and made plans to sell my company and move to Maui.

As you most likely know, Maui is a real nice place.

My villa overlooks the sea.

I invited the Forward Observer to come visit.

Taking an unscheduled vacation, he’s flying in next week.

I think he’ll like it here.

Image by Kathy VanDeventer from Pixabay

--

--