Monopoly Rules

Terry Bain
Post Street
Published in
6 min readSep 2, 2019

--

Free Parking | Terry Bain

A few weeks ago we hauled out the Monopoly board. I don’t know what reminded us of Monopoly. I think it was my youngest son, who a while ago had decided that he wanted to play, but the board we owned was missing pieces, so we managed to disappoint him until he ended up with a brand new game at Christmas this year. Until now, nobody has thought of actually playing the game.

So we hauled it out and set it up. The players were myself, my youngest son (13), my eldest son (21) and my eldest’s girlfriend (I’m not going to list her age because I’m not an asshole).

This was the first time I could remember playing Monopoly in perhaps ten years, and for sure it was the first time playing with anything close to the actual rules. I have known for quite a while that I’d never actually played by the rules, but had never gotten around to caring enough to read the rules and give it a try.

I used to play Monopoly mostly with my father, and though we didn’t play by the real rules, we sure thought we did. If you’ve ever played Monopoly, chances are good you didn’t either.

Rules of Monopoly That Are Not Real Rules

  1. We were not allowed to buy properties until we went around the board and passed “Go” at least one time (I guess the theory was that this made the game more “fair,” but in my experience this was not…

--

--

Terry Bain
Post Street

Author: YOU ARE A DOG http://amzn.to/1GTUrXf & WE ARE THE CAT. Teacher. Artist. Quinquagenarian.