Cultural Shocks and an eventful week

I share some cultural shocks and events in the last week in this postcard.

Cynthia Peter
Postcards by fancy nomads
6 min readMay 1, 2023

--

The skies at Villa Rundle garden, Victoria, Gozo
The skies at Villa Rundle garden, Victoria, Gozo

Hey Pal,

It’s a beautiful Sunday morning. I hope you are well. Today, I am torn between sharing cultural shocks or discussing my eventful week.

I decided to share all of it. One part might be interesting, or the other could be more interesting. Either way, choose what you want to read. And have fun while you’re at it.

Some cultural shocks in Malta

Our first week in Malta was chill, and we didn’t notice many cultural shocks because we were in Buggibba, which I have come to know as one of the bubbling cities in Malta.

However, on moving into our apartment in Gozo and realizing that the closest store to us requires about 12 minute's walk to and fro(and I am not complaining about walking. But then, it could be cold or windy at any time on the island. One minute you’re wearing tan tops and chilling under the sun, and another minute, the wind is dragging you towards Libya.)

I decided to buy Coke on a beautiful afternoon, and the woman locked the shop up upon getting to the store. I returned home and asked my landlord if there was a public holiday or something, and he said, “No, it’s just lunch and siesta break”. Ah! Siesta ke?

That wasn’t the only shock, but it remains my favourite because I now understand the benefit of balance just by watching the Maltese and Gozitans. I have highlighted some of the cultural shocks, particularly to Gozo and Malta, below:

  • Opening and closing hours: The Maltese open their shops between 6:30 — 8 am; they close their shops from 12 noon till 4 pm for siesta and lunch break, except for some shops(mainly in touristy locations). They open again from 4 pm till 7:30 pm and are closed. In contrast, we opened my family’s business at 7 am and closed at 10 pm for years and only when Covid happened, and then we started closing at 7:30 pm. So, coming here and seeing shop owners close at noon still shocks me. However, I love that they prioritize rest.

Generally, you will see posters on the doors like the ones in the images below:

Opening hours notifications in Gozo.
  • You pay for shopping bags at malls and shops. This means you always carry a bag whenever you step out because if you need to buy anything, you’ll either carry it as it is or buy a new bag — I have many bags already.
  • They eat lots of sweet food, yet they look strong and healthy. It comes from lots of walking. The roads here are mainly built to allow people to walk. Gozo, especially, is best experienced when you walk than when you sit in a car or a tourist bus.
Ice cream, gelato, and all sorts of Sweets can be found at every corner on the island.
  • The majority of the apartments you’ll rent here are furnished. So, you only need to move in with your bags.
  • The people here are on time for everything. For the past few weeks, David and I are always the last to show up to anything — church, events, opera, dates; you name it. In contrast, everyone here seems to be there an hour earlier. My parents taught me better than to show up late to anything, but David won’t let me.

Well, I attended mass by myself today, and I was there on time. And guess what? That’s because David went to spend the weekend in Malta.

Some tips if you’re visiting Malta or relocating here:

  • You’ll need tote bags, handbags, and shopping bags that are comfortable to carry around.
  • I generally buy things and stock per week, so within the week, I buy milk or eggs in the morning. Rest assured that the chances of any stores being open between noon and 4 pm are low.

My week in summary and pictures

I had a very eventful week and decided to share everything because I couldn’t choose what to discuss.

Some highlights from last week.

  • David and I attended a musical concert in San Lawrenz. It was insane because we showed up an hour late and the performances already started, and we were too embarrassed to open the door. We eventually waited outside and enjoyed the music before taking the next available bus back home.
  • I visited the Craft Village in San Lawrenz with Carina (Carina is a digital nomad I connected with via social media after I announced that I moved here, and we’ve been friends for a while now). The event wasn’t planned, but at the end of the day, we got ice cream and walked around the market to look at exciting craft pieces.
Some magnets for sticking things on the walls.

I also bought some yarn. I bought a whole pack of yarn. I decided to start crocheting again because, more than anything, my identity has been tied a lot to work and nothing more, and that is why at times when everything at work seems to go bad, it ruins everything for me. This is an attempt to do other things and count them as small deeds I can be proud of in the face of uncertainty.

A bag of crotcheting yarn.
My bag of yarn.
  • On Saturday, 29th April, I went to Victoria for an aimless walk. However, I learned from an acquaintance that a flower fest was happening somewhere at Citadella. I got there, and my mind was blown. Artists made designs using flowers and painted sand or salt.
Flower carpet arts in Victoria Gozo
Flower carpet arts in Victoria Gozo

I met up with Jess, another digital nomad. We watched some artwork, a lovely lady gave us flowers, and we grabbed lunch at the Pasta Republic. Jess and I talked about random things while she ate pasta, and I drank water(Just because I don’t trust the meals here. They’re usually not as spicy as I would love it. So, most times, I stick with pizza when I am outside).

Flowers from the flower carpet festival, Gozo.
A kind woman gave us flowers and I brought it home with me.

After lunch, I took my bus and came back home. I had a cold shower and lay on the couch like the potato I am.

  • At 9 pm, I stepped out to Nadur Square for the Fireworks festival. At first, I thought it was Nadur Square, but then I followed the crowd and found myself at the Belvedere. The group was massive, and I enjoyed watching the fireworks, and the music was nostalgic.
Fireworks in Nadur, Gozo
More fireworks celebrating the Fireworks festival.

The fireworks festival was terrific. The fireworks went off at different times, and in between, we had music performances featuring Rebecca & the Passengers and D Capital Big Band.

Overall, I enjoyed the fest, and at 10:30 pm, I returned home and watched the rest of the festival from my balcony.

I hope your week was as eventful as mine. And if it wasn’t, I hope this new week brings you more colourful days.

Till I write to you again, Ciao

--

--

Cynthia Peter
Postcards by fancy nomads

A mind learning to live one moment at a time. I am finding my path as a Writer. I write about Travel, nomad Living, musings, lessons, and growth.🚀