New changes with the Malta Digital nomad program…

I bring you important changes happening from the 4th of April….

Cynthia Peter
Postcards by fancy nomads
5 min readMar 22, 2024

--

Just a regular bathroom selfie at work.

Hoi!

How are you doing? If you were wondering about me, I am doing very well. There's been good and bad days but who am I to complain? I am learning to live, love, and feel pleasure amidst the chaos.

I am writing this postcard to talk about some changes in the digital nomad application process. Since my first article, a lot has changed and more changes are underway. For example, the income requirement is now €3,500 instead of €2,700.

I assume they received lots of applications and in a bid to manage the processes which were becoming overwhelming, they changed a couple of things or they are just doing what they want.

My Vogue magazine ft favourite snack in March.

Highlights of the new changes

Here are the highlights of the changes.

  • It takes more time to get the first feedback from the nomad residency office. Before it took days or 2–3 weeks. However, lots of recent applicants waited for 4–7 weeks to get their first approval. Officially, the waiting time has gone from 30 days to 60 days.
  • VFS now handles the visa process. Not the premium visa service.
  • There is an interview for the nomad residency application. A video interview.
  • The income requirements changed.

With effect from the 1st of April, 2024, they will implement the following changes.

Increase in maximum stay period

Digital nomads will be able to renew their residency for up to 4 years as digital nomads as compared to 3 years… Yayyyyyyyyy

The digital nomad visa still doesn’t lead to Permanent residency. But who knows, things could change for the better. So, fingers crossed.

Increase in minimum Annual Gross Income requirement

The income requirement has changed. For new applications starting from the 1st of April, 2024, new applicants will have to show proof of a minimum gross annual income of €42,000 (instead of the existing €32,400). That means the monthly income requirement has increased from €2,700 to €3,500.

This adjustment does not affect the current digital nomads. The agency will be maintaining the same conditions agreed upon with the current Nomads.

Official resources to learn more

Some resources to see these changes:

Some (unsolicited) advice…

When you arrive in a new country, it is important to reach out and build relationships. Healthy relationships and support systems cannot be overemphasized. It’s one of the reasons why we created the Naija Digital Nomads group. You don’t have to be a part of this one. You could create yours if that’s what you’d like but I promise you these folks are fun and lovely.

The First Nigerian Digital nomad group hangout in 2024.
The First Digital nomad group hangout in 2024.

That group has been a blessing to everyone. So, here goes some unsolicited advice…

  • Join a community — We have a community of Naija digital nomads in Malta. This group has been helpful to all of us. even some of us who have left the country still try to keep in touch and visit. On some days, we are serious and talking about startup ideas and attending conferences on the island together and on other days, we are hunting plantain or storming someone's house to eat lunch and play games.
  • If you can, share a space. The houses come fully furnished and aside from the fact that it is cheaper to share, you also have someone around. It can get lonely and for singles, it’s important to have company. We’ve had some roomies turn great friends on the island and it’s pretty to see.
Ajax Stadium, Amsterdam.

I casually added a picture of the Ajax stadium, just because I can.

Finally, some FAQs.

  • No! I am not available to help with the application process.
  • No! I do not know anything about studying in Malta. Please do your research on that. Malta has just eight universities, so it can’t be that hard to research 8 universities and find the course you want.
  • No, I don’t have the time to review an application. I spend lots of time curating resources and researching. If I am going to make time to review or chat, I gotta get something in return because “time na money”.
  • I do not advise people to move without having a plan and savings. Malta is very different from Nigeria. Rent is monthly and it is getting more costly by the day. When you budget 1,500–2k for monthly expenses, that’ll tell you that you can’t rely on a miracle on arrival.
  • Malta doesn’t have lots of job opportunities. It is a small island that only has clear blue beaches, hills, and sunlight going for them. So, there are very few opportunities except you have a startup that’s doing well or skills that can live up to your needs. So, don’t scam your way into moving to the country and get frustrated on arrival. It is not a good idea.

I strongly do not advise anyone to move without a plan. For example, we planned to live in the country and if or when we ran out of savings without a new job for at least one of us that could fund our expenses, we’d pack and go home.

We had an alternative. We had a home. Very often people reach out to me and think that I had everything all planned out. I didn’t. I was anxious, scared, and terrified of what would happen if we couldn’t at least get good jobs to keep us floating. However, even in that panic, we knew we had almost 20k to stay afloat.

With that amount in the bank, we could relax for 6 months before rushing back to job hunting and the problems with it. We got an opportunity in just about 6 months and moved to the Netherlands. Someone else from the digital nomad group moved to Malaysia a few days ago as a Digital nomad there.

My point is, to look at yourself and decide what your path will be. Yes, digital nomad residency sounds fun but it costs an arm and a leg, especially for some of us who manage to save heavily back home. Saving becomes harder. So, you’d either have to make peace with that while finding your path or end up miserable.

I want as many people as possible to benefit from my postcards and that’s one of the reasons why I write them but I hope it doesn't pressure you into making decisions that aren’t well thought out.

Till I write to you again, Doei!

Obiagu.

--

--

Cynthia Peter
Postcards by fancy nomads

A mind learning to live one moment at a time. I am finding my path as a Writer. I write about Travel, nomad Living, musings, lessons, and growth.🚀