Postcards by Fancy Nomads

Introducing Postcards — A digital publication sharing experiences and telling stories through pictures and words.

Cynthia Peter
Postcards by fancy nomads
4 min readMar 25, 2023

--

A picture of Dahlet Qorrot Beach, Gozo
Dahlet Qorrot Beach, Gozo, Malta

Hey pal,

I hope you’ve been well. I am doing well, or so I hope. It’s been a rollercoaster of emotions, studying, getting used to the new environment, job hunting, and finding mortar & pestle around the island because the girl has got to pound and cook her Ogbono soup, and deciding the best way to share my travel experiences with you.

This article aims to introduce you to my new publication — Postcards. The idea is simple: sharing stories, experiences, and culture through pictures and words.

Weirdly, I am one of those people bridging the end of the Millennial era and the beginning of the Gen Z era. So, yes, I know what Postcards are.

A brief history of Postcards

According to Wikipedia, A postcard or post card is a piece of thick paper or thin cardboard, typically rectangular, intended for writing and mailing without an envelope.

An example Postcard
Sample of a Postcard by Santa Fe National Historic Trail

Postcards convey clear messages and ideas or communicate with others in a short, eye-catching way.

Postcards are also known for being a personal way to send a message and are typically made from a piece of thick paper or thin cardboard.

A postcard has two sides; the front has a picture of a place, thing, or event, and the back has space for a stamp and for the sender to write a note.

My first time seeing a Postcard was as a kid, early 2000s. A friend of Dad travelled and returned with postcards and magazines. He showed me his collections from all his trips, and it was beautiful. There were no smartphones to take photos, so people only showed the places they travelled to their loved ones by sending them postcards or coming back with postcards.

Why Postcard?

When I hear Postcards, the first thing that comes to mind is an image, date, location, and a short letter to someone we care about.

David on the Gozo Ferry.
David on the Gozo Ferry

This publication plans to share stories, experiences, and cultures of different places and people. The stories will feature travellers, nomads, and everyday people with stories to tell. And we will do that in a few words and as many pictures as possible.

Postcards will feel personal and, for the next few months, will feature David Anierobi and me.

The photos will be photos taken by the authors. It won’t be perfect because we don’t expect professional photography skills. However, we want to tell real stories, share simple tips and tricks, and show you the world through our lens, one photo at a time.

A graffiti art in St Julian, Malta

Why not Youtube or Tiktok?

Many people probably expected this to come as a youtube channel, but if you know me, you’d know that I am camera-shy and lazy.

Maybe laziness weighed more because owning a youtube channel meant that I’ll learn video editing skills and a million and ten other skills that go into it, and I can’t put myself through that process, so I am sticking to the one thing I do well — Writing.

A birds eye view of the Gozo Ferry Terminal, ghajnsielem
A bird's eye view of the Gozo Ferry Terminal, ghajnsielem

In the future, we can go the extra mile and have a youtube channel, but right now, I want to share all these beautiful experiences without putting so much pressure on myself.

Finally, we can’t wait to share all the beautiful things we experience daily with you. Living on a Mediterranean island happens to be one of the best life choices one can make.

Till I write to you again, Ciao.

Connect with us via Instagram

Follow our Instagram handle to connect.

Photo credits to Author Cynthia Peter.

--

--

Cynthia Peter
Postcards by fancy nomads

A mind learning to live one moment at a time. I am finding my path as a Writer. I write about Travel, nomad Living, musings, lessons, and growth.🚀