What’s out there after college? The origins of Potential Magazine

Emanuele Gualandri
Potential Magazine
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2018
An 1880s picture of Sever Hall of Harvard College, a building I see every day on my way to class

The professional world is a nebulous domain to college students and yet, for many, it also represents the next “big stage” of their life. Last winter, as I searched through internship listings with the hope of figuring out what was out there, I grew frustrated:

“What does it really mean to work in X position in Y location at Z company?”

What was missing from the online job descriptions and reviews was a human element. While I could luckily call on my university’s extensive alumni network to find out more, I realized that this coveted information was not readily available to anyone out there.

With this preliminary concern in mind, over the course of the spring semester I began filming interviews with young alumni and business leaders in the Boston area. The hope was to create a video library that could provide glimpses into a variety of different professional paths across companies and industries.

In these past months since starting the project, I have made it central to the mission to follow through with 3 fundamental objectives:

  1. Showcase a range of career paths notable for their diversity
  2. Provide meaningful perspectives from the best leaders out there
  3. Bridge the gap between students and C-level executives

For effective execution I partnered with other members of Harvard Ventures as well as the content team at ProMazo. Over the 12-week semester, we did 10 interviews with a range of leaders working at companies like Google, Intel, Netflix and Wayfair to name a few. I am close to finishing the editing process for a number of videos, which will then be posted on my Medium page in the coming month. Stay tuned!

Update Fall 2018: Since this blog post, I have gotten our project approved by Harvard as an officially recognized organization under the name of Potential Magazine. We are a team of six and hope to continue growing and posting more content in the semesters ahead!

--

--