Why I no longer judge homeless people for being homeless

Tami Nieto
Poverty and Homelessness Chronicles
3 min readFeb 17, 2019

--

As a young single woman with somewhat wealthy parents, sometimes I felt that those who were homeless had a negative or unacceptable reason to be on the streets. Like if they weren’t such drug addicts or whatever they’d be more positively functioning members of society, etc. Then I experienced it for myself. I now regret the emotions and feelings I had towards those experiencing homelessness and do all I can to support those who are in that position.

Homeless people are often normal people like us who were only a paycheck or so away from losing everything. Then they get hurt, lose their job, can’t find childcare, or end up with an overwhelmingly huge unexpected expense that kills their ability to pay rent and out they go! There’s so many factors that come with living easily. Those just above the poverty line are usually incredibly close to being evicted, losing their job, or being unable to afford necessary car repairs and losing everything. Those who don’t have to worry about where our next meal comes from don’t often realize the desperate fear that comes when that “check engine” light comes on, or when we have to miss work to go to the doctor, or any of the other things that happen as a part of life. It’s demoralizing!

My family and I have experienced homelessness more than once. We’ve lived in a truck, a car, in a family homeless shelter, and with family, so I now have a very unique perspective to the life those who are homeless face. It’s hopeless, scary, and very exhausting not knowing…

--

--

Tami Nieto
Poverty and Homelessness Chronicles

Lover of knowledge, Hope Spreader, Peace advocate, Social equality promoter, Aspiring writer, business owner, beauty creator, protector of endangered lives.