Latin Citizen

Warfare, Drugs, Exploitation 
I am 15
I flee to my savior; the US nation 
Met with racism, stereotypes, and oppression 
I work through the pain and animosity 
Could only be done with my work permit 
Waited 5 years for the damn card
I am 23 now with my little apartment 
I barely have enough money for food
2 years and now I'm in a good mood
Green card eligible here
I wait 26 months for my approval 
Being swallowed up by my depression of being 
Alone. Misunderstood. Treated like an outcast. 
I get approved with my new card
Another 5 years pass
I have a slightly bigger apartment
Can afford more food
Practiced my English to be a cool dude 
Naturalization? What naturalization? I am human, am I not?
Do citizens take the term
Alien
That seriously 
I learn about the constitution, the past presidents, policies, you name it 
However can't say that I can name my original countries past leaders
My mind is probed for my knowledge 
I'm approved now
I'm natural
I can now take the oath at the age of 
32

--

--