November 7

This is a poem I wrote about my visceral reaction to the idea of celebrating a presidential victory. Albeit provocative and perhaps pessimistic, I hope that my poem addresses those who believe that a presidential election alone can create a ‘return to normalcy’.

November 7

Out of townhomes spilled bankers and big tech

Clothed in patagonia and biden 2020 merch

(i had worn my bernie shirt:

A subtle reminder of a forgotten future,

Just beyond the pine of electoral politics)

“Finally we can breathe”

I began my walk,

Passing by tent cities and boarded up retailers known for their inclusive advertising

And police blocked off streets

In honor of the celebration

And mass-produced t-shirts and mass-produced activism

In honor of the celebration

I didn’t know that the phrase “power in numbers” only worked when it was palatable to oppressors

Maybe the breaking news event was merely the sorbet before the main dish

A new era

As i walked further and further up the hill i saw cars pass by blaring glittery renditions of patriotic classics

And pedestrians alongside the street cheering and applauding each and every car that passed by

It was almost as if the pandemic was put on hold

Public parks and private homes filled unmasked

And outdoor dining overbooked with those so desperate to be served

I began to enter a state of panic

But for what?

Isn’t this what i had hoped for?

For what need is there to complain?

Can’t we just have a day to celebrate?

THE COMPLACENT PARADISE THAT WE HAVE TEMPORARILY BROKEN FROM HAS FINALLY RETURNED.

“Finally we can breathe”

…In the CO2 of big oil lobbyists

…In the contaminated air of a PPE-free hiatus

…In the stench of state-sanctioned factory farming with their constant surplus of new and improved

Pigs

Call me a pessimist or bitter or lost within the cries of my own little echo chamber

But i have do have hope

My mom and dad say that it is

Our generation’s responsibility to fix what they did wrong

And that very day i saw very few people that looked like me

Walked like me

Spoke like me

Talked like me

Out “celebrating”

Perhaps nothing is more evident of where we stand than by who shows up and why in a time when we are supposed to be entirely inside.

--

--