The Marionettes of Systemic Oppression

Unfortunately due to Youtube's annoying but understandable copyright infringement I was not able to add the song I wanted to, to the piece but I would have had “Revolution” by Raury playing in the background.

Systemic oppression has plagued so many lives for so very long and in this piece that's what I wanted to depict. The hands are there to resemble the overarching systemic oppression and the figures our us, for life often feels like we are marionettes in someone else's fucked up puppet show. I used armature wire because it is often used as the skeleton for many art pieces and I used it to convey the feeling that at the root of everything we are all just skin and bones, with the exact same red beating hearts. I hope that one day we will be able to climb the marionette strings and become the puppeteers of our own lives.

--

--