Expense management and OCR for processing receipts

In my previous blog, I told you how to install the Expense management application, a new canvas app integrated with Dynamics 365 finance, there I explained how to install the application in power platform, to view it in power apps, here I attach the link:

When we install the application in Dataverse it is available for use, but there is a missing part which is the OCR complement to process the receipts.

This functionality improves the way expense reports are created. In addition to auto-match and create expenses from the integration of receipts to Azure Cognitive Services.

In this blog I will tell you how to install the Expense Management add-on.

Installation

To use these advanced expense capabilities, install the Expense Management Service add-in for Microsoft Dynamics 365 Finance, and turn on the features in your instance. You can access the add-in from your project in Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).

  1. Sign in to LCS, and open the desired environment.
  2. Go to Full details.
  3. Select Maintain, or scroll down to the Environment add-ins FastTab.
  4. Select Install a new add-in.

5. Select Expense Management Service.

6. Follow the installation guide, and agree to the terms and conditions.

7. Select Install.

Once the add-in is installed, we can go back to the application and start scanning the receipts.

What features does the OCR functionality provide?

- The system extracts the merchant name, date, and total amount from receipts.
- The system will try to match unattached receipts to unattached expense transactions.
- You can create manually entered expense transactions from receipts.

Where do my receipts go?

Dynamics 365 Finance se conecta con Cognitive Services to extract the field data. Cognitive Services will retain a copy of your receipt for up to 24 hours while processing occurs. After processing is completed, Cognitive Services will remove the receipt. Receipts are still stored in Finance.

Here is a video explaining the application using the ocr functionality, as we can see, it reads 3 specific fields and the others must be selected. It extracts the amount, transaction date etc.

With this we already have installed the application with its necessary components for its correct operation.

For more information:

I hope you find it helpful¡¡ 😊😊🙌

If you liked my story and want to support me:

  • Clap my article 50 times, it would help me a lot.
  • Follow me on my LinkedIn for more information.

--

--

Mónica Andrea Pérez
Power apps integrated with Dynamics 365 finance and operations

Dynamics 365 FO power platform Solution architect. I believe that being constant in the study helps us to improve and deliver better solutions every day.