Better Late Than Never

Jake Rosenberg
Lions Unleashed Blog
2 min readFeb 28, 2019

When you’re late for doing something you dedicated yourself to, don’t take the easy way out and say “oh well, next time”.

For the last year or so, I’ve put out a personal growth video every single weekday morning, without fail.

I generally put the video online first thing in the morning so that people can get their day started with a dose of Practical Optimism.

It does occasionally happen that my schedule requires me to prioritize other things and I can’t publish the video first thing in the morning.

When that happens though, I still publish the video, just later in the day.

There’s an important lesson there that I want to share with you.

If you dedicate yourself to doing something, don’t look for an excuse to back out.

Don’t be that person!

Here’s an example of how this happened to me in the past.

The first thing I do on a typical morning is going for a jog around the block.

Running is important to me and my health, for many reasons.

What used to happen is, if for some reason I didn’t jog first thing in the morning, I’d tell myself “oh well, tomorrow’s another day”.

Is that not me taking the easy way out on my dedication??

It actually took having an accountability partner to point it and say “Jake, if you dedicated yourself to running every day, then go run! If you missed your morning run, who cares?! Run in the afternoon! That’s no excuse.”

And then it hit me.

How often do we take the easy way out on the important things in life?

We don’t even realize when we do it!

So my morning video today is actually a noon-ish video. Who cares?!

I dedicated myself to putting out a daily video.

Don’t take the easy way out. You’ll never reach your success if you get into the bad habit of doing that.

Rather always look for “how can I make this happen, regardless?”

That’s how you Power On! 🚀

Watch today’s video:

--

--

Jake Rosenberg
Lions Unleashed Blog

Provider of personal and business solutions 🤝 @thosemarketers • @thepowerentrepreneur You cannot learn if you think you already know...