Step One To Living With Intent: What Do I Want?

Jake Rosenberg
Lions Unleashed Blog
4 min readMar 11, 2019

This week I’ll be reviewing what I believe are some of the most important and actionable keys to your success, as well as how you can implement them in your life.

In order to make sure you don’t miss anything, you can either:
Join my WhatsApp group or Follow me on Medium.

Yesterday I went into detail on a simple question:

What does living with intent mean?

Short answer, living with intent means:

  • Mindfully choosing how you are going to spend your time alive.
  • It means choosing what you feed your mind, body, and soul.
  • It means choosing your direction and where you’ll end up in the future.

Today I’m going to start digging into Step 1 of living with intent.

It starts with knowing what you want.

Have you ever sat down alone and asked yourself what you want?

I mean what you really want.

Here are some examples of what I mean, broken down by category:

Physical

  • What do I want my body to look like? How big do I want my biceps? How defined do I want my abs? How good do I want my stamina to be?

Friendships

  • What do I want my connection with my friends to look like? Beyond that, what kinda friends do I want to have? What activities do I want them to be interested in? What personalities do I not want in my friend group?

Home

  • What will my house look like in the future? What rooms will it have, what environment will it be in? What will the view be like? What will the property look like? What part of the world will it be in? Do I want multiple houses? Do I want a butler?

Mind

  • What do I want my thoughts to be like? What do I want my outlook on life to be like? How do I want to respond to stressful situations? What topics do I want to be knowledgable on? Do I want to meditate? How often?

Business

  • Do I want to work in a corporate environment, a startup environment, a gen-z collaborative workspace environment? Do I want a desk job or a field job? Do I even want a job, or would I rather pursue entrepreneurship? What industry do I want to work in? What do I want to do in that industry? Do I want to be in management, executive, or some other position?

These are just some starter points.

Photo by Doug Robichaud on Unsplash

What I want you to do is take some time to focus on each category and let your mind wander.

You want to allow your mind to find those true dreams you’ve always had floating around in your subconscious.

Don’t think about the how at this point, only that what.

Here are some categories to get you started:

  • Body
  • Mind
  • Platonic Relationships
  • Romantic Relationships
  • Public Image
  • World Impact
  • Business
  • Home
  • Interests

You can look back at the examples I gave earlier in this article as a guide for the type of questions you should ask yourself.

Go into as much detail as you can think of about your ideal self in each one of these categories, and most importantly, write it all down.

I'm challenging you to take an hour today to shut yourself away from all distractions, and focus on doing this.

If you don’t implement what I’m giving you here then there’s no point in reading it. Knowledge isn’t power, applied knowledge is power.

Power On 🚀

If you haven’t yet, read the intro to my series on Living With Intent.

You can then go on to Step Two To Living With Intent: What Are My Personal Values?

In order to make sure you don’t miss anything, you can either:
Join my WhatsApp group or Follow me on Medium.

Watch today’s video:

Power Morning + is written daily by:

Jake Rosenberg
Founder / Performance Coach
LinkedIn|Instagram|Facebook

--

--

Jake Rosenberg
Lions Unleashed Blog

Provider of personal and business solutions 🤝 @thosemarketers • @thepowerentrepreneur You cannot learn if you think you already know...