Knowing How To Analyze Data Can Open Doors For Job Seekers

Courtney Mayberry
PowerToFly
Published in
6 min readMar 24, 2016
Courtesy of Vanina N.

Vanina, PowerToFly’s senior data and web analyst, likes to get her hands dirty — with data. She’s passionate about Google Analytics and the opportunities it holds for the future of businesses and job seekers alike. The data-driven guru, wife and mom of two works remotely from California and even watches YouTube data and analytics videos while cooking dinner for her family. And her frig is always stocked with a special Bulgarian treat for her loved ones. Find out why she thinks Google Analytics is critical to today’s job seekers by registering for PowerToFly’s webinar, “How Google Analytics Can Get You The Job,” April 6 at 1 p.m. EST.

Can you briefly explain your role at PowerToFly?

I am a senior data and web analyst at PowerToFly. I am responsible for reporting, measuring key performance indicators, web analytics, web tracking and data analysis for our platform and users.

What path did you take to obtain your current role?

I did not always like numbers. I come from a family of doctors. When I was a student, my dream was to pursue a career in medicine. I wanted to specialize in ophthalmology like my dad and perform highly specialized ophthalmic surgery. My parents didn’t support that because they said they didn’t want me to be overworked and stressed like them. Instead, they wanted me to be a diplomat. During undergrad, I studied political science and international relations. But I figured out pretty quickly that I’m more interested in economics, econometrics and statistics. I have a natural gift for sensing the data. Most classes I took in undergrad and graduate school were data-focused, including my bachelor’s and master’s theses. In 2006, I landed my first job as a business intelligence analyst. And very soon after, I knew this is what I wanted to do.

How did you first gain experience when you began analyzing data?

Best way to gain experience is a hands on approach. Get a data set and start digging. My first real experience with data was in conservation biology class in undergrad. As a class project, I had to design and conduct an online survey about support for conservation efforts. That was an amazing experience — from data collection and preparation to analyzing, grouping the trends and presenting the findings. I was able to learn much more from the data than initially expected by segmenting by country, age, education, lifestyle, etc. My final findings went well beyond the initial tasks of simply sensing people’s feelings about the subject.

How have you continuously kept up to date with latest trends in data gathering and analysis?

I am a big fan of YouTube. There are several channels that I’m subscribed to and watch their data and analytics videos while I am cooking dinner for my family. The official Google Analytics channel uploads several videos with their latest developments and updates every week. I am also a member of several professional groups on LinkedIn, and I follow publications there. I talk to colleagues from other companies on what they are doing and how.

You have passionately presented information during many of our internal team meetings. What makes you so passionate about data and tracking trends?

Data is increasingly becoming the future. It is opening opportunities we did not think possible even five years ago. For example, Google’s AlphaGo algorithm allowed a compute to defeat a top professional player in the board game of Go for the first time. Previously, this was believed to be impossible. But through usage of big data, huge existing game moves/outcomes database, algorithms and humongous computational power, the first 2:0 score for AlphaGo is a fact. Just imagine what a powerful and precise prediction algorithm can do in medicine, finance and security fields. However, even the best algorithms would not work without the correct data to train them.

How has Google Analytics changed the way candidates search for jobs?

Companies rely more and more on data for steering the business. But companies that are offering products or services online cannot survive without web analytics. It tells them in real time what is happening on the site, which parts are appealing to the public and whether a new feature will be profitable. Which converts more users, a green button or a pink one? Are clients coming from social media channels more likely to buy more expensive products compared to clients coming from search engines? All this information helps companies make better and faster decisions about their business development, web site and advertising budget. Because of its reliability, ease of use and low cost, more than 70% of companies are using Google Analytics for their web tracking and reporting. As a job candidate, if you know how to use Google Analytics, you’re one step ahead compared to candidates who have no experience with it.

Why should a job candidate become more data-driven? What are the benefits?

Understanding data, web tracking data, reporting, basic statistical and mathematical concepts can make you a better and smarter employee. It does not matter if you are a marketer, a PR champion, a community leader, a CEO, a frontend developer. The right data can help everyone. The PowerToFly webinar in April will introduce basic Google Analytics principles and illustrate the potential of the tool in giving job seekers an edge.

Can you talk about a project that you’re really proud of and your role in it?

The most recent such project is my work for PowerToFly. I designed our web tracking strategy for Google Analytics and implemented most of it through Google Tag Manager. Thanks to that, we now know a lot more about our customers, their preferred pages on the site, and the nature of their potential user experience issues. I’m proud because by providing this data to all my colleagues, we are now able to make informed decisions and steer the business toward our goals with confidence.

Are there any surprising findings from data in your career?

My favorite is from my time in the matchmaking industry. Quite surprisingly, it turned out that people aged 55+ seem to be making the most of their membership and are having a great success rate in finding a partner. They are having a more self-help, take-my-future-into-my-hands approach than younger generations, who tend to sit and wait for The One to find them! This is great attitude and one which they should not be afraid to transfer to the job market!

What do you like to do in your personal time?

I spend it with my family. We like to ski, hike and bike and try to teach our kids to love the outdoors and to spend as much time outside as possible. Also, I make our own Bulgarian yogurt because the kids are real yogurt monsters and can eat a quart a day! Unfortunately, they do not like the yogurt you can buy in the U.S. and that is why I have to make it every week.

Is there a negative side to being a data or web analyst?

I would not really call it a negative side, but it’s a job that’s difficult to explain in instances where data is not widely used yet. I remember about two or three years into my career, I tried to explain to my grandparents what I do. I went into details on how I work with numbers and find trends in it and make conclusions, etc. They listened attentively and at the end concluded: “So you are an accountant!”

Register for “How Google Analytics Can Get You The Job” webinar and join us April 6, at 1 p.m. EST, 10 a.m. PST.

Join PowerToFly today to become part of our fast-growing network of all-star women in tech. You can also learn about the best ways to hire and manage a distributed team by downloading our free e-book.

--

--

Courtney Mayberry
PowerToFly

Savvy marketing writer and community manager w/strong news judgment for @PowerToFly. We are transforming where & how we work. #RemoteWorks