If You Are a Fan of Professional Wrestling, You Need to Read These Books

Nick Howard
Powerhouse Post
Published in
7 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Several wrestling personalities are good writers too.

Mick Foley: retired wrestler/bestselling author (Wikipedia)

Like many people who grew up in the 1980s and 1990s, I was a massive fan of professional wrestling. I still watch now and then but miss the larger-than-life characters I grew up watching. As I’ve gotten older, I am nostalgic for the “good old days.”

I watch a lot of documentaries about some of my favorite wrestlers (much to the chagrin of my non-fan wife). And in the past several years, some excellent books have been written by those who performed during these periods.

Unfortunately, not all of these books are created equal. Sometimes, these books could be better written or full of lies and rumors. But some excellent books have been praised by fans, critics, and the people involved in the wrestling industry.

What follows are some of the best books written about professional wrestling by the people who were there. If you are a fan of classic WWE or WCW, many of these books will be a walk down memory lane.

“Hitman: My Real Life in the Cartoon World of Wrestling” by Bret Hart

--

--

Nick Howard
Powerhouse Post

I am an educator and a writer. I write about sports, movies, comics, history, professional wrestling, food, music.