Powerspike Streamer Spotlight: Dan Ryckert

Carly Orris
Powerspike
Published in
2 min readMay 3, 2021

Dan Ryckert has over 24.6K followers on Twitch and is one of the most unique voices on the platform. Powerspike worked with Ryckert on the Fireball Whisky campaign in October of 2020. Over a three week campaign, Ryckert’s streams brought in over 16k live viewers, and his social channel saw over 15k impressions.

What was the key to building your audience and getting people to tune in to your stream?

I believe I’ve stood out by being unlike anyone on the platform. My streams aren’t the standard “sit in a gamer desk and focus on one game primarily” streams. I try to offer a huge variety, both in terms of game selection and overall presentation.

How would you describe your consumers/audiences? Who do you think they’re composed of the most?

Being 36, I believe that I have an older audience. Many of them have followed me throughout my 16 years in the gaming industry.

What are some partnerships you’ve enjoyed working on in the past, and why?

The Fireball promotion I did via Powerspike was a blast. I got to lean into it and have fun, and they sent me swag and products that I could have fun with on stream. I made it my own with Fireball graphics and SFX.

What products do you think are the easiest to promote and why?

Ones that I genuinely enjoy. I find it difficult to muster up enthusiasm for products that I don’t have a personal enjoyment of. I like Fireball, which made it very easy to enthusiastically push it.

What is the most surprising thing about working with brands on Twitch that was originally a misconception?

I’ve found that brands are generally receptive to streamers “making it their own” and not being too tied to strict contract requirements. I’ve had a good time communicating with brands and tweaking things to make them appropriate for my style.

Interested in working with Twitch influencers? At Powerspike, we handle all the day-to-day busy work involved in running Twitch campaigns so you can focus on what matters. Get in touch with our team of former influencers today to see how we can get your brand on Twitch.

--

--