“ADHD — it doesn’t mean you can’t focus, it means you won’t focus on nothing you don’t like.”

Sinbad, WTF with Marc Maron

Daniel Hour
PQSB
1 min readMay 19, 2018

--

~ the 1:31:50 mark

Context

It’s pretty deep into the interview when this comes up (but the whole interview is a fantastic listen) but they find their way to comparing note-taking processes on how they take sheets / napkins up on stage… and how they always eventually lose those notes 😂.

Maron:
My entire life, I’ve been like, ‘I should get more organized w/this shit.`

Sinbad:
If we were ever organized with it, we wouldn’t be comedians. I know that sounds like a cop out… but it’s not a disease, it’s a gift.

Maron:
Yea

Sinbad:
ADHD - it doesn’t mean you can’t focus, it means you won’t focus on nothing you don’t like. And that’s what makes comics special. Don’t like it, ain’t dealing with it.

Maron:
Yea

Sinbad:
DON’T like it, AIN’T dealing with it!

Maron:
*chuckles*

Sinbad:
It is a GIFT to be able to know that I don’t want to deal with that.

--

--

Daniel Hour
PQSB

iOS Developer & sometimes 3D-printer. I also really really love quotes. http://dhour.codes