“I try to attach myself to individuals and material that fight the darkness.”

Mandy Patinkin, 92Y

Daniel Hour
PQSB
1 min readJul 14, 2018

--

~ 30:20 mark

Context
The interviewer (Thane Rosenbaum) asks Mandy about the types of roles he’s getting and how many of them have a certain “character” quality.

Rosenbaum:
Are you working this particular character? Is this who you are?

Patinkin:
Not at all.

I would say, who I am, is a fragile fellow whose most of his life was ruled by fear and at some point, through friends and teachers and luck, I learned to manage this fear and welcome this fear. …there’s no way I can run from it. It’s much faster and much smarter than I am, so I welcome it.

And the only way I know to counter it is to try to infuse into it hope and optimism and I practice it like a meditation and I look for songs that sing this meditation and parts that play these ideas and writers who write it like David Kelly, like Stephen Sondheim, like William Shakespeare…

You know Sondheim & Shakespeare, these are DARK souls. So you know “are you a dark soul Mandy?”
YEA!

“Do you like being a dark soul?”
FUCK no!

“What do you do about it?”
I try to attach myself to individuals and material that fight the darkness and everything that Sondheim and Shakespeare write is about turning darkness into light. And everything that I try to do, even when I fail, is that, so that’s what my life’s about.

--

--

Daniel Hour
PQSB

iOS Developer & sometimes 3D-printer. I also really really love quotes. http://dhour.codes