“It’s a date, and then a hyphen, and then another date. And we’re the hyphen.”

Craig Ferguson, The Late Late Show w/ Craig Ferguson

Daniel Hour
PQSB
1 min readMay 5, 2018

--

~ 24:40 mark

Context

Kimmel is trying to convince Ferguson to stay in the late night game but Ferguson is adamant about leaving and that he was never interested in taking over for David Letterman. Ferguson then flips it on Kimmel and asks him:

Ferguson:
How do you keep doing it? Because, because… I can’t.

Kimmel:
Here’s what I have learned. Whatever I have to do, I don’t want to do it, no matter what it is.

I always figured, whatever it is, I’m not going to want to do it so I might as well do the thing that I don’t want to do in the first place that I’m already doing.

Ferguson:
Hold on, are you in therapy? Because I’m concerned that isn’t the way to approach it at all. Think…

It’s a short time on this planet, man. It’s a date, and then a hyphen, and then another date. And we’re the hyphen.

--

--

Daniel Hour
PQSB
Writer for

iOS Developer & sometimes 3D-printer. I also really really love quotes. http://dhour.codes