“It’s way better to be OK in a great movie than to be great in a $#*tty movie.”

Josh Brolin, WTF with Marc Maron

Daniel Hour
PQSB
1 min readOct 13, 2018

--

~ 58:50 mark

Context
Maron and discussing Brolin’s older movies (specifically Thrashing) when Brolin “wasn’t doing what I wanted to do.”

Organically come to the next topic of watching your own work.

Maron:
Are you any good at watching yourself now?

Brolin:
Yea… when I watch it I say “does this work or does this not?” …
Cause you look at it as a story. I don’t look at it as me anymore.
I see the story and I go “Is it effective?”

Maron:
Right.

Brolin:
It’s way better to be OK in a great movie than to be great in a shitty movie.
It’s great to be in a great movie. There’s nothing better.

--

--

Daniel Hour
PQSB
Writer for

iOS Developer & sometimes 3D-printer. I also really really love quotes. http://dhour.codes