“WHY is always going to equal knowledge born.”

Tracy Morgan, Dinner for Five

Daniel Hour
PQSB
1 min readMay 12, 2018

--

~ 18:50 mark

Context

This is from Dinner for Five. A show that was on IFC and created by Jon Favreau (pre-Iron Man, post Rudy days). The premise is that five creatives (usually actors / directors) get together, have dinner, and just… talk. No script and no direction - just pure, honest conversation. It’s fantastic.

Tracy stays pretty quiet for most of the episode but then around the 18:50 mark, he begins asking some extremely poignant questions. There’s even a point where Tracy actually feels like he has to explain himself for asking so many questions but here’s his main reason why he believes in asking so many questions:

Tracy Morgan:
I guess that’s why I’m defiant in the way that I am when I do standup because when I was younger and I would say something, my mom would go, “Shut up. Stay in a child’s place.” Whereas, when you look at Eddie, who was doing it (standup) at 14, he had parents that probably encouraged him to speak up.

Bateman & Tambor:
*nodding understandingly*

Tracy Morgan:
I do that with my kids in school. Question the teacher. Even though they don’t like it, question the knowledge. Cause why is always going to equal knowledge born.

--

--

Daniel Hour
PQSB

iOS Developer & sometimes 3D-printer. I also really really love quotes. http://dhour.codes