Celebrate Your First Draft

Then Encourage and Expect the Feedback to be Critical

Brian Link
Practical Agilist
3 min readJun 8, 2024

--

I’m writing this because *I* need to celebrate writing the first draft of my book! It’s been almost a year in progress and today is the day I can say I’ve finally written my first complete draft.

And I also think it’s a great analogy to share with anyone who may be struggling with creating content, writing code, building products, heck, doing just about anything. The first draft is a significant milestone because it’s the first full product version you can share to get feedback. Outlines, designs, intentions, and partial products don’t count nearly as much. But the first draft, even if it’s got a thousand flaws you’re already aware of is still crucially important. Celebrate it.

My advice is get there as soon as you can. Then immediately put a plan together to start collecting feedback. Who can you show the first draft to? Probably not your highest priority target client you’ve not won yet. Probably just some close friends, or supportive stakeholders. Be choosy but seek out honest and direct feedback. You may find that some of the things you think are flaws aren’t really so bad. And just as importantly, some fresh eyes will see challenges and new approaches that you cannot.

Anytime you are seeking feedback, you need to over-communicate a bit and emphasize the fact that you want the feedback. Tell people to be overly honest. Encourage them to be critical and let them know that you are expecting it and that it’s part of the process.

I know I have a mountain of editing to do to finish my book. But I am eager to get some real honest feedback from a short list of friends and fellow agile coaches whom I know will dig in and give it to me straight.

If you enjoyed this, please clap and share. It means a lot to know my work on this blog is read and used by agilists out there in the world.

Hi, I’m Brian Link, an Enterprise Agile Coach and AI Advisor who loves his job helping people. I call myself and my company the “Practical Agilist” because I pride myself on helping others distill down the complexity of the Agile and AI universes into easy to understand and simple common sense.

How well is your team “being agile”? Find out at MeasureTheMindset.com. Our self-assessment tool focuses on 24 topics of modern ways of working including the Agile Manifesto and Modern Agile basics, XP, Design Thinking, Lean, DevOps, and Systems Thinking. It comes with deep links into the Practical Agilist Guidebook to aid continuous improvement in teams of any kind.

The Practical Agilist Guidebook is a reference guide that gives easy to understand advice as if you had an agile coach showing you why the topic is important, what you can start doing about it, scrum master tips, AI prompts to dig deeper, and tons of third party references describing similar perspectives. Learn more at PracticalAgilistGuidebook.com

--

--

Brian Link
Practical Agilist

Enterprise Agile Coach at Practical Agilist. Writes about product, agile mindset, leadership, business agility, transformations, scaling and all things agile.