Don’t Set Yourself up for Failures and Meltdowns This Holiday Season

Why not try giving yourself a chance at serious happiness?

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth
Published in
9 min readNov 30, 2022

--

Image licensed with Envato Elements

A few days ago, while leaving a shop, a woman cut in front of me in line. Her pale skin was burning red, there was sweat on her brow. A mop of blonde hair swirled about her in a picture of madness, with a few long locks clumping sweatily to the sides of her neck. In her arms was a jumble of gifts — toys, perfume sets, candles, and a pair of holiday slippers.

“Sorry!” Her voice was breathless, exhausted, but frantic all the same. “I’ve just got to get these into the car. Do you mind? My son is waiting, and I promised him I would grab these for Christmas. He’s only 7. You know how little boys are…”

At first, I wanted to get angry. I wanted to cut her off and chuck her out of line where she belonged. Before I could do any of that, however, I was overwhelmed by a wave of pity for the woman.

It was November 18th…days before any Black Friday Sale began in the story. Hardly a Christmas decoration even hung around the register or down the aisles. Yet here was this woman, an accomplished and self-possessed woman, already wildly possessed by the Christmas Devil.

All that mattered to her were those presents and the reaction of her little boy…

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01