Let’s admit it: Facebook is bad for us

Even the social media giant admits its platform isn’t really safe for human consumption. So why are we still using it?

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth
Published in
8 min readMar 14, 2019

--

Photo by Tim Bennett on Unsplash

by: E.B. Johnson

Last week, I revealed some of my struggles with Facebook and the (seemingly) miraculous ways my life improved after I deleted the app from my phone.

A few weeks on from that momentous decision, I’m still riding high. I feel happier, less-anxious and more connected with the world around me. I know I’ve made the right decision for me, and it’s completely changed my perspective on social media; but that got me thinking — if Facebook is that toxic, why are we still using it?

Facebook Keeps You Addicted

It seems like we rely on Facebook for more and more aspects of both our social and professional lives.

Though I would love nothing more than to rip my profile off the site (middle finger soaring), I can’t do that. My career depends on Facebook and I rely on it for marketing, advertising and reaching new customers. More than that, I’m an expat, so I have no choice but to use Facebook to keep up with the friends and family that I left behind.

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01