How I Learned to Love Being Alone (And How You Can Too)

Why the Fear of Solitude?

Zohvib
Practical Growth

--

Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Have you ever sat in a room, surrounded by an empty silence, and felt an unsettling void? If so, you’re not alone (no pun intended).

The mere thought of solitude can send shivers down the spine of many.

  • Why is that?
  • Why is being alone often synonymous with loneliness?
  • Why have we conditioned ourselves to seek constant company or distractions?

Let me share my journey with you — how I went from dreading those silent moments to relishing them, and how you can too.

Society's Faulty Message

Our society seems to have wired us with a peculiar message: “If you’re alone, something’s wrong.”

We see couples everywhere, group outings are a norm, and even when we’re home, we often plug into social media, where a barrage of shared moments can make our solitude feel inadequate.

But have you ever stopped to question if we really are happier in a crowd?

Alone Doesn’t Mean Lonely

Here’s a revelation: being alone and feeling lonely are NOT the same thing. I’ve felt lonelier in crowded rooms than in quiet evenings by myself.

Alone time can be empowering, offering moments of introspection, creativity, and self-renewal.

We’ve mistaken the silence of solitude for the silence of emptiness, but what if I told you that it’s in this silence that you truly find yourself?

Discovering Self-awareness

My journey to loving my own company started with self-awareness.

When I embraced solitude, I began to understand my emotions, dreams and desires clearer than ever.

Remember the last time you made a decision without external influences?

By being alone, you gain the clarity to make choices that resonate with your true self. Isn’t that a power worth harnessing?

Boosting Creativity

Did you know that some of the world’s greatest ideas came from moments of solitude? Think of Newton under his apple tree or JK Rowling drafting Harry Potter in a quiet café.

Solitude can be a goldmine for creativity. Without distractions or external inputs, your mind becomes a fertile ground for novel thoughts.

So, the next time you’re alone, instead of reaching for your phone, why not reach within?

The Joy of Simple Pleasures

Here’s something magical about solitude: it makes you appreciate the little things.

A sip of warm tea, the rustling of leaves, or even the rhythmic pattern of your breathing.

Alone time allows you to connect deeply with the world around you, finding joy in nuances that might be missed in a cacophony of social interactions.

When was the last time you truly savored such simple pleasures?

The Inviting Path of Solitude

Solitude isn’t about isolating from the world, but rather about reconnecting with oneself.

I learned to love being alone, not by shutting people out, but by inviting myself in. And if I could do it, so can you.

So, the next time you find yourself alone, ask yourself: will you let societal perceptions dictate your feelings, or will you seize the moment, diving deep into the boundless ocean of self-discovery?

The choice is yours.

And trust me, the treasures of solitude are worth the dive.

Sign up for my weekly email list. I promise you won’t regret it.

--

--

Zohvib
Practical Growth

1.5M+ reads online • Personal coaching & more stuff → bento.me/zohvib