Is Body Dysmorphia a Right of Passage?

Finding a healthy body image.

Shelley Karpaty
Practical Growth

--

Image licensed with Envato Elements

Can you recall the series of embarrassing moments growing up, feeling awkward in your body? Societal expectations or aspirations always looming from the advertising or movies or social pressure abundant with messages that to be accepted and happy you needed to be thin. It may be an old and tired theme however, it gets passed down from generation to generation, year to year.

As a woman, I have inextricably linked my body to my self-identity, how I felt, and how I am perceived by others.

While this has all shifted for me personally as I have deepened my connection with my body through pregnancies, yoga, various forms of exercise, and meditation there are times when that little voice in my head that tells me how losing that five pounds would make me so much happier. Pregnancy and motherhood have helped my connection to my body for it is quite miraculous I grew and birthed two humans!

What mainstream is saying today —

This plight of scrutiny has expanded into the mainstream yet again recently with the new guidelines for childhood obesity (official term). As if we needed more scrutiny.

Obesity is a complex health issue that affects a staggering percentage of US children and teens…

--

--

Shelley Karpaty
Practical Growth

Meditation and Musings - navigating life as a human BEing connecting the dots of the Universe.