Programmed to Fail: Why You’re So Ashamed of Being Happy

You can keep it a secret from them…but not here. This is why you’re so ashamed of going after what you really want.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth
Published in
7 min readJul 7, 2022

--

Image by stevanovicigor via Envato Elements

by E.B. Johnson

For years I was shamed and punished for the life I wanted to lead. Growing up in rural southern town, I got told I was a “spoiled brat” and a “snob” for wanting to leave it all behind.

“Who do you think you are?” was a phrase I knew like the back of my hand by the age of 12.

Things didn’t get any better when I grew up and left that small town behind, either. As I learned more about myself and the world, I bloomed into things I really enjoyed. I found new passions and interests.

And each time I was labelled pretentious. Arrogant. Out of my place.

Eventually, I came to associate shame with anything that I wanted. New passions and interests were treated with hesitation and suspicion. Everything I enjoyed came with a sense of guilt and an endless question mark.

Breaking through the rubble.

I won’t lie and say that I broke through this haze of shame overnight. That’s a lot of heaviness to take on for anyone, and I held on to it as tightly as I did the…

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01