The Worst Things Toxic Family Will Say to Bring You Down

Don’t let their viciousness get to your sense of calm.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth
Published in
6 min readJul 6, 2022

--

An upset woman screams into the phone at her toxic family.
Image by nikki_meel via Envato Elements

by E.B. Johnson

I heard a lot of hurtful things from the toxic members of my family over my lifetime.

By the time I was 18, I had been called overweight, underweight, a wh*re, pathetic, stupid, and unlovable. I was compared regularly to my biological mother, and made to feel as though the only way I would be loved is if I performed a certain way. Dumbed myself down. Pretended I was something else.

Fast forward 15+ years and I’m not on a cataclysmic journey with healing. Doing that, however, has required that I face up and fess up to the pain in my past.

More specifically, I’ve had to face up to a lot of the hurtful things that were said in spite to hold me back over the years. As the memories float to the surface, so does the knowledge that I had my heart broken with words more than 100x before I even had the language to understand what was happening.

The worst things toxic family will say to you.

The dysfunctional family rarely does anything clean, and that includes the paths of destruction they cleave through their children. Insults are hurled around like candy. Those of us…

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01