When Narcissistic Family Abuse Takes a Long Distance Turn

Think moving away will solve your problems? Think again.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth
Published in
8 min readOct 3, 2022

--

Photo by Kevin Escate on Unsplash

My client was in a total state of shock. “She showed up at my house! On the other side of the country! What am I supposed to do about that? I’ll never be free of them.”

Her story was not a unique one. Having recently broken from her narcissistic family, my client was describing her move across the country and her shock when her narcissistic mother showed up (without notice) on her front doorstep.

The boxes were still packed in the lounge. The cable guy hadn’t even shown up to install the internet. My client hadn’t even received her first piece of mail or gone to her first day at the new job. Yet her mother had figured out where she lived and had then driven over 9 hours across the country to inject herself into her daughter’s life once again.

She was a narcissist that refused to take no for an answer. She was a toxic mother denied her source of control and supply. My client’s mother was like many, many mothers out there. They were identical to many families. Because narcissistic abuse doesn’t end when you run or cut ties. In fact, that’s when things can escalate to an even crazier level.

Distance isn’t always enough.

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01