The crazy ways my life improved after deleting Facebook from my phone

I was angry. I was depressed. Then I deleted Facebook from my phone.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth
Published in
12 min readMar 7, 2019

--

by: E.B. Johnson

When I was first introduced to Facebook back in the fall of 2007, it was actually kind of cool. Back in the early days of the platform it was all about the social experience. With just a few clicks of your mouse you could connect with all your friends and family from around the world. It was an actual network and when you used it you felt connected with the world around you.

Fast forward to 2019.

The Facebook we know now looks nothing like that minimalist connectivity platform we fell in love with more than a decade ago. It’s filled with ads, ads and more ads, and if you happen to find a spot that’s not filled with sponsored ads, chances are it’s covered with some kind of half-correct political meme.

Facebook isn’t a social network anymore. It’s a corporate and political vomit machine, saturated with more advertising for brands, retailers and party candidates than a road side billboard.

Facebook sucks. And more than that? It’s dangerous. Helping to generate and instill some really toxic beliefs and behaviors in a society that’s already on the edge.

--

--

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
Practical Growth

NLPMP Coach | Writer & Content Creator | Sharing my knowedge with the world ⭐️ https://linktr.ee/ebjohnson01