If Your Passion Doesn’t Scare You It’s Probably Not Your Passion

No one said finding your calling is easy, stop thinking it should be

Jamie Jackson
Published in
6 min readMay 10, 2021

--

How do you know if you’ve found your passion? It’s a hard question; I believed my passion was to work as a freelance IT Project Manager simply because it was familiar and my real passion scared the crap out of me, so I ignored it.

This is your life and you need to be making the right decisions about how to live it. So here’s the premise of this article:

You know you’ve found your passion because without a doubt, it scares the bejesus outta you.

It took me years to acknowledge my passions. I wanted to be a writer, I wanted to make videos and documentaries, and more than anything else, I wanted to perform stand up comedy.

When I finally acquiesced to these dreams my anxiety about hiding from them didn’t dissipate but immediately doubled as now I had to do them.

Once you decide what your passion is, the fear gets real. But fear is a compass; listen to it, learn from it, it’s trying to tell you something.

Here’s a quick thought experiment to prove the point: Consider something scary, such as swimming with sharks or playing the trumpet to a packed Royal Albert Hall. Undeniably…

--

--

Jamie Jackson
The Unfolding

Between two skies and towards the night. // Email me: jamiejacksonati [at] gmail [dot] com