The Important Hidden Message in The Truman Show

Are you Truman Burbank?

Jamie Jackson
Published in
7 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Jim Carrey as Truman Burbank in The Truman Show (Credit)

I watched The Truman Show last night. I haven’t seen it since its cinematic debut in 1998 when I was in my first year at university and life was a thick book of possibility.

I found the film amazing on first viewing, but I also took it at face value, missing its metaphorical message all those years ago because I was a naive and excitable 20-year old who just wanted to party.

It wasn’t until I revisited the film yesterday, with 22 more years of life written in my book, that I realised it is far more profound than I first believed.

The Truman Show is powerful stuff, a simple story, heavy with metaphor and message, akin to a biblical allegory. There might as well be a Book of Truman in the Old Testament.

It is possibly one of the most important messages ever conveyed in film. Let me explain what that message is, and why it’s so important to our lives.

Trumanism and the Corporate World

For those who may not have watched it, without spoilers, here’s a brief synopsis:

Truman Burbank is a young married adult in the town of Seahaven, living an ordinary 9–5 life, but unbeknownst to him, he’s the star of a reality TV show where…

--

--

Jamie Jackson
The Unfolding

Between two skies and towards the night. // Email me: jamiejacksonati [at] gmail [dot] com