Seneca’s Anger Management Lessons — Number 2: Take A Bit Of Time

anger responds right away, but we can slow things down to control it

Gregory Sadler
Practical Rationality
9 min readMar 17, 2023

--

As I mentioned in my first post in this series, Seneca’s classic Stoic text On Anger is a work that I lead students through in a class on Anger and justice I’ve been teaching this academic year at Marquette University.

His work is full of great insights and helpful practices drawn from Stoic philosophy, which is precisely why I want my students to read it. It’s so rich that I’ve decided to start writing an entire series of posts on the lessons we can derive from this text. This second one focuses on another really useful practice he sets out in that work. It might seem to some just commonsensical, but it’s easy to lose sight of once we actually do get angry. Let’s call it “Take A Bit Of Time”.

Contrasting Anger Against Reason

Seneca first discusses the connection between anger and time in book 1, chapter 17. The context there, at first, is his much broader…

--

--

Gregory Sadler
Practical Rationality

president ReasonIO | editor Stoicism Today | speaker philosophical counselor & consultant | YouTube philosophy guy | co-host Wisdom for Life | teaches at MIAD