Our Social Contract and my 4 answers to the Cohort #3

E.G. Boyer
Greaterthan
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2017

1. Team Assignment: create a “social contract”

For this second week of the Leadwise Practical Self management Course, the main inspiration came from Joshua Vial, founder of Enspiral.

And as team Aroha, we started the brainstorming on the Google Drive and then met one time via Zoom to finalize the content of our Social Contract.

The content by itself might not be fundamentally original, but the fact that a team builds it by themselves, instead of getting it all cooked up from someone else or from an external firm, really makes a whole difference.

(By the way, I am still amazed that it is now such a normal thing to collaborate so dynamically with people literally based all over the world.)

From there, I wanted to create something visual out of this first brainstorm, it was shared and reviewed by the other team members, and the result is included below. I truly believe in the power of visual thinking and graphic design to create and communicate knowledge.

Experiencing it on a daily basis in my own team and in the teams I coach and support, I am convinced by the positive impact that a “social contract” can have on a team or an organization, as long as those guiding principles are re-energized regularly, and practiced using different tools and ‘systems’.

And the Aroha team also brainstorm which those ‘systems’ should we apply:

2. Personal Assignment: My letter to the Cohort #3 facilitators and participants

As an individual, why are you here?

I am a facilitator and an agile coach promoting self-management, agility and creativity techniques and the best way for me to learn more is to find your tribe and to share experiences with like-minded people.

What does a great experience look like for me as a participant?

A sum of intense moments where experiences are shared with authenticity in order for everyone to learn more and therefore to make another step towards their ultimate goals.

This great experience would also be the result of everyone walking-the-talk of our “social contract”.

How does my participation support the mission of this project?

My experience and especially the mistakes I’ve made and failures I had on experimenting many different ways to promote agility and self-management in a large organization.

What support do I need to ensure I achieve my personal participation mission?

Being given lots of opportunity (and taking each opportunity) opportunity to interact actively with the LeadWise staff and the other participants.

Learning and applying self-management techniques during the course.

--

--

E.G. Boyer
Greaterthan

A Full-Stack Developer and team coach promoting agility & self-organisation, and the routines which increase engagement and happiness at work.