Project 5 week 3 Cohort 3

Dean Little
Greaterthan
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2017

Week 3 Project 5 Cohort 3.

A really interesting week this week diving into some self analysis. Taking an introspective look at our blind spots can be quite confronting. On a personal level I found this difficult. However in a sense of irony being part of a supportive environment allowed me to push myself further than comfortable. For me it reinforces the need to do the best to foster an environment that allows a level of vulnerability. Following is the process i went through this week alongside some fantastic conversations.

Immunity To change

1. I’m committed to getting better and showing patience. Showing patience in my decisions and dealings with people.

2.

a. I’m not reflecting enough on conversations with people to ascertain their perspective.

b. I rush into decisions without the best due diligence

c. I avoid the prolonged work with the assumption I should know the answer

d. I suffer from FOMO (fear of missing out)

3.

a. Worries — I fear people will think I’m not intelligent if I don’t know the answers

b. I fear missing out on an opportunity

c. I don’t enjoy the details so I think I tend to breeze over the the required effort and attempt to convince myself I’m smarter than i really am!

d. I have a tendency to chase every shiny thing

4.

a. I assume my view is correct and feel I need to vindicate it and if I don’t people will not believe me And that will prove that my integrity can be questioned. How people view is important to me.

b. I assume I am intelligent to make the correct decision and if I don’t people will criticise me And that will prove that i don’t know everything,

c. I assume the opportunity will not present itself if I don’t get it now and if I don’t I will lose! And that will prove that the need for perceived success is important to me.

Thoughts

The value I hold that may be holding me back I the need to compete or win. However this comes back to what defines success. Something to consider I think.

Interesting the feedback from Guita about the assumptions being around others in our environment. It appears there is a need for acceptance of feeling valued by others that is inherent in my assumptions. Interesting to explore this further

--

--