23 Bad Habits I’m Breaking in 2023

Same shhh, different year, new attempt

Gracia Kleijnen
Practice in Public
Published in
5 min readJan 20, 2023

--

The Blob and a ghost creature and a potato inside a house. The Blob’s wearing it’s orange longsleeve, blue pants and white shoes. It shouts “Get out!!!” at a pink ghost blob and orange potato creature and points towards the open door. The pink ghost wears a sign reading “comparison games.” It responds to the Blob with “Fine!! We’re already leaving.” Next to it a potato with sign “Dressing like a potato.” Both creatures walk towards the open door.
All illustrations made by the author in Procreate

We all get frustrated after mindlessly downing a box of chocolate cookies, skipping the gym because we feel tired (read: are lazy), or scrolling cat videos deep into the night.

Whenever I don’t accomplish my goals, it’s either due to:

  1. My anxiety gut-punching me paralyzed in the heat of the battle
  2. But mostly because I’m spending too much time on unnecessary crap — see points listed in the introductory paragraph.

Oftentimes, you don’t need to work harder to attain success. You need to do less of what’s unimportant.

However, you can’t stop doing something you’re unaware of.

That’s why I’ve pinpointed all the bad habits or unhealthy coping mechanisms I found in my life. And they have to go. The goal is to avoid or replace them all with healthier, more productive alternatives. Ones that are worthy of my time and energy.

Use this list to unearth bad habits you want to ditch.

  1. Going to bed ultra late, due to…
  2. Screens beyond 11 PM. Ain’t nobody got brain for that. “Let me just get this one thing done. It will take only ten minutes.” No, it won’t. You know it won’t. Rest now, continue tomorrow…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
Practice in Public

Google Sheets & comic creator. Words on productivity, self-development, relationships & mental health in 49+ pubs. 2x Author. https://linktr.ee/graciakleijnen