4 Must Read Books About Money To Boost Your Financial Fortune

The books that gave me the compass and map to building wealth

Oli
Practice in Public
3 min readMar 20, 2024

--

Koi, a symbol of good fortune, in a Japanese garden (photo taken by author)

When I was ready to learn more about money and wealth, my search started with “top” rated personal finance books. Not all of the books felt helpful, but some led to lightbulb moments that shaped how I think about and handle money today. Each of the 4 books mentioned below unlocked new skills and perspectives, allowing me to navigate financial matters better and start charting my own path to building wealth.

Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki

This was the first book that made sense to me. The idea that stuck with me was where he says that money is your first employee. And, just like someone who you hire, you need to give each dollar and cent a job to do. Otherwise, your money is likely to leave without helping you reach any of your goals. It may sound weird, but it resonated with me. At that time, I knew I was earning money but it felt like the money would slip away and another month would pass with no savings. This book helped me shift focus from thinking only about how I was working for money to figuring out how my money was working for me.

The Millionaire Fastlane by MJ DeMarco

Two ideas in this book stuck with me despite the fact I didn’t always agree with the author. (1) Business, at its core, is simple: offer a product or service that meets a person’s needs and you’ll make money. That idea you have for a business? Make a mini version, try selling it, and get feedback. No ideas, but want to start a side hustle? Find a community you want to help, talk to people, and find out what they need.

(2) How much money would you need to reach your wealth goal? This book helped me define wealth through working out an actual number. With a clear goal, instead of just wanting “more money”, it was easier to embrace the idea of wanting more for myself.

If you’re mulling over a business idea like I was, this book might give you the final push to get started.

We Should All Be Millionaires by Rachel Rodgers

Ready to get started, but looking for a guide? This was the first book that gave me actual steps taken by the author to reach her first million dollars. It also helped seeing an example of someone who was also Black and a mom. The first half of the book busts through the mental blocks that prevent people, especially Black women in the US, from prioritizing financial well-being. The second half of the book guides you through steps to make your first million. While I got stuck at the $10k in 10 days challenge, it’s easy to see how someone who makes it through the book is on their way to becoming a millionaire.

I Will Teach You To Be Rich by Ramit Sethi

This is the best book to help anyone improve their financial health. One of my sisters recommended the book to me, but it took the author’s Netflix series clips on YouTube before I actually read it. My impression was that the author wrote for a recent college graduate, but the steps were worth reading the whole book. Unlike other books, each chapter includes an action you can take to improve your finances. From following the steps, I got money back, changed banks, and now have savings which I got to use for holiday travel last year.

One more thing …

As you learn more about personal finance, you are bound to improve your financial fortune. This month is also a great time to level up your personal finance knowledge: if you expect a tax refund, these books can help you come up with a game plan.

The best way to access these books is the library. If you don’t have a library card, go to your nearest library and apply for your free library card today (or tomorrow if they’re closed when you’re reading this). You can then use the card to borrow books through a library app, like Libby.

Even if the books mentioned here don’t speak to you, use this article as a reminder to look for and keep learning in the ways that work best for you.

--

--

Oli
Practice in Public

Business owner, lifelong learner. I unpack some of the things I’ve found helpful in managing personal finances.