5 Sharp Lessons from My Clients That Supercharged My Growth

Simple yet most ignored.

Sumanpreet Kaur
Practice in Public
4 min readApr 16, 2024

--

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

So far, my client base is in 6 countries (Including my home country).

Imagine this — A recent graduate working with a leader having 20 years of experience who is from another country.

That graduate was none other than me.

This is how freelancing disappears boundaries of the physical world and gives us a world of immense opportunities.

So, my initiative of providing online services served me with stunning opportunities and hard-core challenges.

Observing my clients who are industry leaders helped me get ahead10X as a human. Here’s how:

1) Take charge rather than blaming or questioning

Like every usual day, I shared the post for my client’s review. Minutes and hours passed, yet he neither checked the post nor he responded.

Guess what? He responded just one hour before the post timing, saying a major revamp is required for the post — We need to refine the message.

What further he replied astonished me — Edit it later, I have one post that you can use today.

He took charge with no questioning and demanded no immediate changes when he came himself with the solution.

The lesson?

Observe what you can do, what’s in your hand, and how you can make the situation better.

2) Track data rather than making assumptions

The truth is that sometimes we ruthlessly ignore what we know. And I screwed up while ignoring the data of our client’s profile.

But this client tapped like a bright light as we discussed to have a monthly review of the data and performance. While reviewing data, we marked lacks and things that worked to improve our process for the next month.

When the world gives a hype to speeding up and running faster, taking a step to review, reflect, and analyze acts like a compass for further direction.

3) Finding peace in your own calmness

What I observe in people around me is being fast and furious even when the slightest things go out of their control or plan. So, I was.

I can’t count the number of times I wasted energy, distracted focus, and multiplied chaos distressing about the things out of my hand. This is about my 1 year past self.

As the challenge doubled down, my skill of controlling my emotions and myself improved (Thank God).

2 weeks earlier, the serene and relaxed state of my client in the meeting was contagious — It was refreshing for me to feel that zone of tranquillity.

This happens when you embrace the traits of understanding and flexibility which bring a transformation from your swift reactions to thoughtful responses.

4) Human values that connect us

Asking someone how they do (genuinely), expressing gratitude, and having a random small talk in the meeting cost nothing to make someone feel better.

Especially when you spend hours working on the screen, connections with peers or clients act like an antidote to that repeated routine.

I’ve worked with people who were too mechanical to have so-called professional relationships when they started a conversation over a call with me asking directly about work rather than taking a few seconds to know if I was doing well.

It’s about the little things that matter.

Everything falls short if you don’t know how to genuinely connect with other humans.

5) Your communication style gives signals about your personality

Before you say anything about your experience and expertise, your communication style conveys a lot about you as a person and professional.

For example, if a person:

  • Don’t interrupt others while speaking.
  • Speaks in a lower pitch with a consistent pace.
  • Listens carefully.
  • Gives clarity to their message.
  • Understands you rather than making judgements.

These are enough signs of a thoughtful and experienced personality.

So, the excellent communication styles I observed in the leaders penetrated in my bahavior.

Learning from humans.

Humans are the never-ending books you can learn from.

Experiences and observations from humans are limitless. That all gives you a fresh perspective, shows you a new direction, and makes you feel better. That’s always refreshing and eye-opening.

For this, being open-minded and being more aware with less tension opens new doors and sets you ahead 100 steps.

The best part? You grow better not only as a professional but also as a human.

So, start observing more.

Enjoyed reading this? Tap on the clap, share your views, and follow to get such insightful stories weekly. I write about Freelancing, LinkedIn tips, self-improvement, and healthy routines and share my stories.

I’m a LinkedIn personal branding strategist and copywriter. I share insights based on my experience and learning. Want to get practical LinkedIn approaches to achieve your business goals?

Let’s connect on LinkedIn.

--

--