5 Ugly Mindset Mistakes That Keep Your Content Lame

A few simple tweaks that will radically improve your content.

Sam DeZeeuw
Practice in Public
7 min readAug 9, 2024

--

Image by Author. Icon by Sumitsaengtong.

This isn’t one of those hippy or fake guru posts that says, " Ya just gotta change your mindset, dude, and everything will be chill.”

No.

Making quality content regularly is not a small task. It’s tough, and it’s hard work!

No mindset shift will fix that.

But I’ve made these handful of mistakes firsthand. And while overcoming them didn’t skyrocket my success or anything, it opened my eyes to the fact that I was making this journey WAY harder on myself than I needed to.

And I wouldn’t want that for you.

And now I can honestly say I enjoy making content way more. And isn’t that the goal? If we don’t at least enjoy it, what are we doing here?

So let’s hop in.

Mistake 1: “Creating.”

Now I know what you’re thinking… “We’re called ‘creators,’ right? Why wouldn’t we create.”

Well, ya see, many creators fall into the trap of treating content creation as a task to check off their to-do list.

“Gotta stay consistent!” Am I right?

Many times, without realizing it, you end. up just mimicking others in your niche or giving your audience what you believe is the “right” advice that you heard somewhere else.

And no matter how much you try to avoid it, your audience can feel the disconnection.

Can you say “a recipe for imposter syndrome”?

If you’re not careful, you end up repeating what others are saying rather than sharing your own unique thoughts.

Here’s the thing. When content feels forced, your audience will notice.

Generic, uninspired, and doesn’t stand out.

The solution?

Treat your content like a journal. Maybe even a journal of your expertise.

Why does this subtle shift matter?

When you see your content as a personal journal, you naturally draw from your own experiences and knowledge.

  1. This will make your content unique
  2. But also build your confidence and connection to your audience.

Which is the ultimate cure to imposter syndrome!

You never have to feel like a fraud because everything you’re saying is your own experience and no one can take that away from you.

Personally, when I adopted this approach, I started by setting aside time at the end of every day to reflect on my day. Is there anything or any thoughts that could benefit my audience?

If I don’t jot it down now, I will lose it!

Photo by Sebastian Pandelache on Unsplash

Mistake 2: Consuming The Wrong Content

I was guilty of this one for way too long.

It wasn’t until I noticed the issue and was intentional about shutting it down that I started to see a change.

Many creators spend a lot of time consuming content from multiple creators in the same niche as them.

They try to absorb all the advice out there, thinking that the more they know, the better their own content will be.

“Oh, So-And-So Influencer posts on YouTube and X and Tiktok and Facebook and Threads and Instagram. If it’s working for THEM, why wouldn’t it work for me?”

Here’s why this doesn’t work.

If creating content is a side hustle for you, you likely don’t have a ton of time and resources.

When you try to be everywhere and do everything, you can’t focus deeply on any one thing. This not only affects the quality of the content you are making but also spreads you really thin as you struggle to keep up with the demands of multiple platforms.

Not to mention the changes that happen on each platform regularly!

How the heck are we supposed to keep up?

Instead, focus on finding the ONE strategy or platform that best aligns with your strengths and resources and leverage that.

It’s better to master one platform or strategy than to be mediocre (at best) at several.

For example:

If you’re naturally good at speaking and enjoy engaging with people directly, focus on building a strong presence on a platform like YouTube or a podcast.

Or if you’re an introvert and not great at speaking off the cuff, maybe don’t start a podcast just because the top gurus have a podcast.

Ignore that pressure.

Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

Mistake 3: Comparing Yourself to Others

“Comparison is the thief of joy.” That’s what they say, anyway.

And I can vouge for whoever “they” is.

PS: I just found out “they” was Teddy Roosevelt! That’s kinda cool.

Please stop consuming the content from others in your niche.

I see many creators (including myself) look at more established creators and measure their success against what they see from those who inspire them.

Not only can it sap your joy and motivation, but it can also lead to copying their content, either consciously or unconsciously.

As a result, your content becomes less unique and will never stand out.

Now, we can talk about how this can stunt your growth all day — like how you basically become a B-Tier version of who you’re consuming at best. But that wouldn’t even mention the mental toll you’d go through.

Comparing is harmful because it’s unfair — you’re comparing your Chapter 1 or 2 to someone else’s Chapter 10.

A surefire way to take a toll on your mental health and impact your view of your own abilities.

Do this instead:

This doesn’t mean you should stop learning from others entirely!

But shift your focus to creators outside your niche or completely unrelated fields that inspire you.

By stepping away from constant comparison, you allow yourself the space to grow at your own pace, and it helps you to focus on developing your unique voice.

I’ve personally found that cutting back on consuming content from my direct competitors has been one of the best things I’ve done for my creativity.

Instead, I look for inspiration from sources like books, podcasts, or even completely different industries, which keeps my content more original and fun to create!

PS: I use the word “competitors” loosely. I’m rooting for them and want them to do well, too! This isn’t a zero-sum game.

Photo by Amanda Vick on Unsplash

Mistake 4: Chasing Trends to Stay Relevant

Trends became more prevalent in social media when TikTok became more popular.

If you spend about 30 seconds searching “How to grow on TikTok,” you’ll find someone telling you to follow trends.

Trends can be fun.

Don’t get me wrong!

But they also can have a downside.

Let me explain.

Many creators believe that to stay relevant and grow, they need to jump on every trend.

They see trends as a quick way to attract attention and followers, so they constantly chase the next big thing, even if it doesn’t align with their brand or long-term goals.

And yes, it might lead to short-term spikes in attention, but it rarely builds a strong brand.

In fact, do you remember the latest trend you saw a lot of people jumping on?

You probably do!

How many of those creators that jumped on the trend can you name, though?

We tend to remember the trend itself more than the creator doing the trend.

Not to mention, their content will also get lost in the noise of similar posts, and once the trend fades, so does the engagement.

So it’s time to find the next trend!

I’m getting burnt out just writing about this hamster wheel.

Focus on building a brand that’s true to you and your expertise, creating content that serves your audience consistently over time.

While occasionally engaging with trends can be beneficial if they align with your message, your primary focus should be on creating content that reflects your long-term vision.

I always find it ironic when creators talk about wanting to escape the 9-to-5 grind, only to get caught in the hamster wheel of chasing trends.

To me, that doesn’t sound like freedom at all.

Hot take: If I’m gonna be any sort of hamster wheel I think I would rather be on one but guarantees me a paycheck for being on it.

Photo by Swello on Unsplash

Mistake 5: You Don’t Need It.

The perfect tool does not exist.

There. I just saved you so many hours of searching for it.

Wait, what am I talking about?

Many creators fall into the trap of constantly searching for the “perfect” tools and apps to streamline their content creation process.

Believing that finding the right software, editing tool, or productivity app will magically solve all their problems and make creation easier.

This leads to trying tool after tool after tool.

And what do they have to show for it? A lot of wasted time.

Instead of creating content, you spend your time learning how to use new tools, setting them up, and troubleshooting issues.

The ironic part?

You FEEL productive.

But you’re not.

“Being busy is a form of laziness — lazy thinking and indiscriminate action. Being busy is most often used as a guise for avoiding the few critically important but uncomfortable actions.”
- Tim Ferriss

Screenshot from X

Stick to the basics and use the tools you already have. Often, the simplest tools are the most effective because they don’t overwhelm you with unnecessary features.

For example, if you’re comfortable using a basic app like Apple Notes, there’s no need to switch to a more complex platform like Evernote.

I’ve personally fallen into the trap many times — from trying different video editors like CapCut to various note-taking apps like Evernote and or project manager Notion. But in the end, I realized that Apple Notes works just as well for me, if not better.

--

--

Sam DeZeeuw
Practice in Public

I help businesses take what they do best and tell the world about it with a content marketing framework.