Decoding Knowledge Management Systems

A No-Nonsense Guide to the CODE Framework

Your guide to understanding what is the CODE Framework by Tiago Forte

Owen Robert McGregor
Practice in Public
Published in
7 min readDec 24, 2023

--

Image by Author

A little personal history with CODE

As previously mentioned, my initial source of influence was Tiago Forte’s blog and his idea of “Building a Second Brain” (a PKM). The first version of my PKM was using the CODE Framework in Notion, back in March 2021.

However, as I put the Framework into practice and gained a deeper understanding of the topic of PKMs, I stopped using CODE by July 2023. My reason behind this action was the fact I began to see the underlying purpose of CODE and how it was misaligned with my purpose of creating a PKM.

This article is for people who are curious about CODE or veterans of the Framework, who wish to learn from my experience and gain a deeper understanding of the topic.

What is CODE?

CODE, which stands for Capture, Organise, Distil, and Express, is a PKM Framework that governs the high-level process and overarching behaviour, which prioritises ‘Action-Oriented Knowledge Management’. Created by Tiago Forte.

--

--

Owen Robert McGregor
Practice in Public

Economics Prodigy from Melbourne 🇦🇺 Globe-trotting nomad 🌍 Obsessed with becoming a Modern-day Polymath 🧠 Follow for a curated list of my insights💡