Are You Always Taking the Easier Path?

Are you aware of that?

Vedprakash Jangid
Practice in Public
4 min readJul 25, 2022

--

Photo by Timo Stern on Unsplash

Here is what happened.

I was at this shop buying some milk. There was a crowd. Which is usual at this shop. I asked a person who works there. What time of the day should I come here that I find a little less crowd? He told me the time. And I was like, Ok fine. But then he also said,

“You should always go in the crowd. You should always struggle”.

In reply, I just smiled and nodded my head in affirmation. I didn’t give much thought to it at that time. I bought the milk and returned home.

But what he said made me think about it. Not casually but seriously.

Why did I ask that? I could have said something else. Because I just wanted to have a casual chat with him. Why did I choose to ask that only? Am I trying to avoid struggle and hardship? I don’t think I’m someone like this.

But, because I did ask. I have to admit maybe somewhere, deep down I’m wanting things to be easier. Maybe I have a tendency to choose the easier path with less struggle whenever I can. Perhaps I have been doing it for I don’t know how long unconsciously.

If It’s true I want to be fully aware of it and I want to change it.

What is wrong with always taking the easier path and opting for less struggle, less hardship, and fewer problems?

Let’s Talk

I read this somewhere, your choices shape your future, your choices shape you.

What happens when you take the easier path? You face fewer setbacks, fewer problems, and fewer obstacles. You don’t have to struggle much. Your journey is smoother. You reach the destination without much effort.

On the other hand, going for a difficult path means more grinding, more setbacks, more hardships, more effort, and more struggle. Who wants it?

Think about this. Suppose, you plan to go to a beach. Say there are only two routes (for simplicity) you can take to go there.

One of them is a highway. It’s wide enough, that it never has a traffic jam, smooth enough that you don’t have to slow down frequently. It has fewer curves and turns and cars that a novice can also drive confidently.

The second route is interesting. It goes through the main city. It has many turns and potholes on it. It’s too narrow, has traffic all the time, prone to accidents. An expert also needs to drive carefully in it. If you are a newbie you will think twice before taking this route.

Which one would you take?

Most people will take the highway. The easier path.

It’s a wise choice when you are out of time. When you have bought a brand new ride and you are a newbie. Or in case of an emergency.

What’s not wise is always going for the easier path.

What’s The Point?

In my city, when you tell people you are learning to drive. They say go and drive in the main city. That’s it. (Let me tell you those roads are really tough.)

Why do they say so?

The point is tough road makes you tough as well.

A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor. — Franklin D. Roosevelt

You don’t know what will happen in the future. Obviously.

You don’t have control over the choices you will have in a future situation.

What if there is an emergency at the beach and you have to go there. But the only route you can take is the tough one because the highway is blocked as some construction is going on there. How will you get there if you have never ridden on that route? Or did that only a few times. You will be worried. Anyone will. Because you are not as skilled as that route requires you to be.

Even if you go there. You will suffer. A lot.

The problems, and difficulties you face, the inconvenience and hardship you get, the efforts you have to put in, and the struggle you do when you choose the tougher path instead of the easier one. All of it makes you stronger and more skilled. It prepares you for the near future.

Those challenges teach you a lot. You learn how to deal with certain situations. You learn how to find solutions to some problems. You become confident in doing the hard thing.

Eventually, the hard thing becomes easier because now you are tougher.

You should take the tougher path often if not always.

You Get This

#1. Say you need to go somewhere near like 1 or 2 kilometers. Don’t always use your vehicle. You have plenty of time. No hurry. Go on foot if it’s possible.

#2. Use stairs instead of elevators whenever you can.

#3. Choose the topic that’s completely unfamiliar to you instead of the easy and common one for the next presentation competition.

These examples are not so hard for most people. There can be many more.

But you get my point. Right?

It depends on you. How harder is the path you are willing to walk on? How extreme do you want it to be?

It’s your choice.

There is a quote that says…

Don’t wish it was easier wish you were better. Don’t wish for less problems wish for more skills. Don’t wish for less challenge wish for more wisdom. — Jim Rohn

One doesn’t have control over the circumstances, but one does have control over making himself stronger.

Good day.

--

--