Chasing Outcome Goals Is a Rabbit Hole

Do the thing.

Manav Tyagi
Practice in Public

--

Made by Author on Microsoft Copilot.

While I was in my 9-to-5, my parameters for success were salary and designation.

Unfortunately, those were my two main goals in life.

I was like any other employee, running a mindless corporate race.

I learned all this from my colleagues, and I must have taught the same to a few others.

The outcomes of having these goals were:

  1. Fear of getting fired
  2. Greed to do more work

These two thoughts made me stressed, depressed, and full of anxiety.

These outcomes were only beneficial for the employer. Most workplaces operate in this way.

I couldn’t sustain it for long.

Hence, I quit my 9-to-5 after seven years.

The only problem I see in all this was the focus on outcome goals.

What are Outcome Goals?

They are specific objectives that focus on the end result or final achievement rather than the processes or activities required to reach them.

These goals are typically quantifiable and time-bound, providing clear benchmarks of success.

--

--