Choice Was Always Yours, but Did You Choose Well?

A ‘Thank you’ can go a long way… and so can a ‘complaint.’

Pankhuree | Kaleidostopia
Practice in Public
2 min readMar 2, 2024

--

Photo by Caleb Chen on Unsplash

Sometimes we are too demotivated to do anything, and we want to blame someone for whatever is going wrong.

Enter: God/Goddess/Universe.

We blame Him/Her/It or whatever ‘we believe in’.

Contradictory, isn’t it?

We believe it and blame it simultaneously because we start to question its existence or its decisions.

My grandmother told me that once there was a messenger from God who went on to ask people what they wanted so that he could take those messages to God.

He went to Jay, introduced himself, and asked what he wanted from God.

An affluent person, Jay replied, ‘God has given me enough! Tell Him not to give me anything anymore. And do not forget to thank him for whatever he has given me. I am forever indebted to him.’

‘Oh, okay! Great.’

He then went to Dave and asked the same.

Dave answered in a rude tone, ‘Hahah. Finally, you came to ask me. Ask Him to give me what he never gave me! I have a list. Show him this and ask him to give me all that he forgot to give me! What all I truly deserve. What all I could have had to make my life easy.

He hands him the list and asks him to leave.

The messenger went to God and told him everything. God smiled and replied, ‘Ask Jay to stop thanking me so much, and I will stop giving him everything. And ask Dave to start thanking me a bit, and I will start striking things off from this horrible and petty list.’

So…

Jay never stopped thanking Him and never stopped receiving love and luxuries from God. And Dave never stopped complaining and never received anything from Him.

And when I found a reason to complain today, I was reminded of this story and thanked Him for everything I am thankful for.

Especially thankful to my grandmother for telling me this story.

This is a reminder for you all to thank Him/Her/It for something today.

Keep going!

Until Next Time,

Toodles!

Are you complaining today, or are you grateful?

--

--

Pankhuree | Kaleidostopia
Practice in Public

I write about feelings. Truth or Fallacy? Just a matter of perspective.