Don’t Stop Writing

The long-term strategy

Eve Arnold
Practice in Public

--

Photo by Candice Picard on Unsplash

I’ve learned the hard way that 99% of the reward comes from showing up day in, day out without stopping.

It’s the momentum that’s the real driver of success. It’s getting started and never stopping. The trouble is, most people stop. Most people start, don’t get the results they want and so stop.

They see their progress in a few weeks and think that’s what they can expect in a few years. What people often miss is the impact of compounding.

Today, we’re going to talk about how you start and never stop writing.

Step 1: Stop thinking it’s the solution

When I started building online, it was my escape route.

It was the thing that was going to get me out of the job I hated and the life that was making me miserable — It was my route to freedom.

Consequently, I put so much pressure on the thing it was never going to work. My eggs were all in one basket and the trouble was, I had no idea what I was doing.

The first step in writing forever is to stop thinking it’s the solution to all your problems. Instead, take the pressure off. If you’re miserable in your job, step one is to fix your job.

--

--