Don’t Use Obsidian!

Grab these 4 vital insights first

Neil Hawkesford
Practice in Public
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2024

--

The Obsidian logo next to a red ‘Stop’ sign
Image created by the auther in Canva

“F**K you Obsidian, I’ve had it!”

Those were the words I yelled at my monitor a few months back.

I’d tried, I really had.

My obsession with Obsidian had lasted weeks. The user manual dominated my reading. I bought The Macsparky Field Guide and immersed myself in hours of tuition, making notes as I went. I watched YouTube videos and got lost in a forest of ‘Community Plugins’.

Yet nothing worked as I wanted it to. My work had ground to a halt.

So I called it quits …. again.

More. Time. Wasted. Pissed doesn’t cover it.

Once again, I heard that little voice in my head. Whispering a truth I didn’t want to accept.

“The tools aren’t the problem………… You are.”

Deep down I knew Obsidian didn’t suck, neither had all (most) of the other tools I’d discarded. Deep down, I knew the voice in my head wasn’t lying.

Patterns repeat. I knew what came next. I’d bury the truth once more and go searching for another too, a better tool. Next time it’d be different. Next time I’d find the Holy Grail of Personal Knowledge Management (PKM) tools and get to work at last.

--

--

Neil Hawkesford
Practice in Public

A Thalassophile Writer foolishly sharing his thoughts with the world.