3 Factors That Influenced My Current Food Habits

Kiran Yadav
Practice in Public
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2024

--

How not knowing about things worked out in my favour.

Photo by Alexa Suter on Unsplash

Does a child can differentiate between junk and healthy food?

I guess not! For her, it is just a food. The other day I was discussing with my daughter’s pediatrician about including salt and sugar in her diet as she has completed six months and is ready for some food tasting!

The doctor advised against salt and sugar up to the baby being one year old.

“ But how will she eat such a bland food without salt?” I questioned.

“Did you know the taste of Shushi before you tried it?” she countered.

“No,” I said.

“ Then how will the baby know about any recipe that she is eating for the first time whether it goes with salt or not,” she explained.

Babies don’t have any prior food taste like us adults. We find it difficult to quit sugar and salt because we already have tasted it and are unable to get out of its addiction completely.

This conversation with the doctor let me think about the time when I was in school and we had to write slam books about our favourite food.

Unlike my majority of friends’ favourite foods which were burgers, pizza etc, my favourite food was rajma chawal. It is still…

--

--

Kiran Yadav
Practice in Public

Uncovering my niche, exploring genres, making meaningful contributions along the way