Mindset Shift

From Homeless to Billionaire: Life Lessons From John Paul DeJoria You Can Use To Overcome Rejection

The quality of your circumstances largely depends on the quality of your thoughts

Michael Toby
Practice in Public
Published in
7 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

Photo by Elimende Inagella on Unsplash

There I was driving down the 405 in California on my way to Hermosa Beach, a hitchhiker with me in the car riding shotgun I picked up near Hawthorne.

This was the state where John Paul DeJoria grew up and learned his most valuable lessons for success. I hope to meet him some day. But back to his story in a minute.

The year was 1987, long before Hermosa Beach became one of Southern California’s most coveted beach towns where sports stars and Hollywood elite call this posh paradise home.

A true fish out of water, I was a 23-year-old Brooklyn, New York City boy who had been abandoned by his L.A. friends after arriving at LAX airport from a six-hour flight from the east coast.

Despite being jet lagged and in desperate need of stretching out my tight muscles from a cramped flight, I had nothing but highs from excitement with my first adult vacation to the Golden State.

However, those highs quickly turned to lows.

--

--

Michael Toby
Practice in Public

On a mission to help others become the best version of themselves, challenge assumptions, learn new things, write everyday, and gain more patience and tolerance